The Pot Roast Reflection

20130929-193123.jpg

Today I made a pot roast. I was shopping at Sam’s two weeks ago and fell in love with a gorgeous cut of beef. I had to have it.

I was determined to make it last weekend, but after endless online search sessions trying to find the most delicious pot roast recipe I gave up. All the recipes I could find included cream of mushroom or onion soup mix. I am sure these ingredients give the pot roast a great flavor but I am trying to avoid them. They are not part of my pantry. I need “simple” ingredients, I need to understand where flavors come from. I finally found a very simple pot roast recipe that had coke in it, my singing monster’s favorite drink. I had to make it. It also included onion soup mix so I made my own seasoning mix.

As the pot roast was cooking I spoke with my family in Spain. The entire family was available: mom, dad, most gorgeous sister, and our little hamster. That’s right, he joins our Skype sessions.

I was telling my mom about my kitchen adventures, and how I’ve made meatballs and meatloaf this past week. She was indeed amazed: by the fact that I have access to the biggest selection of canned and instant food and I decide to make things from scratch.  She’s right! I grew up in a home where both parents worked so much my mom had to prepare our meals in no time. Canned and instant food was our salvation.

The funny part is that my grandma has always cooked from scratch. She moved from Palencia (rural area in Spain) to Barcelona to cook for a very wealthy family that wanted to enjoy traditional country food.  So in a way, my grandma was a revolutionary in the family because she moved to the big city. My mom was a revolutionary in the (Barcelona established) family because she went to college and she mastered instant cooking while juggling work, college, and family. And I am a revolutionary because I moved to the US and now I am trying to cook from scratch.

Wish me luck.

A

PS: The pot roast came out ok, but not as delicious as I wanted. I need to prefect the recipe. The recipe that I used as a base is this one: Crock Pot Coca-Cola Roast

I didn’t use onion soup mix so I made a different mix:

– 1 tsp of Steak Seasoning

– 1/4 tsp sugar

– 1/2 tsp paprika

– 1 tsp fresh parsley, chopped

I cut half an onion in thin slices and cooked in olive oil for about 4min. I added 3 minced garlic cloves and cooked for one more minute. I set the onions and garlic aside and browned the meat in the same oil, 2 min per side. I added salt and pepper to the meat as I was browning it although it wasn’t enough. If you don’t use the onion mix make sure you season the meat and veggies well. I added the onions and garlic to the crock pot with the other veggies and also added some vegetable stock, since I didn’t have beef bouillon. I need to perfect this recipe and I will. I’ll share the new recipe then.

Leave a Reply

